• Due to renovations to our vault, access to our collections is limited until further notice. Please contact us for more information.

University Administrators

UAA/ACC Administrators and Chancellors

If the name is highlighted, we have photographs of the individuals available on Alaska’s Digital Archives.

Anchorage Community College:


    • Melvin Huden, Director ACC, 1957-1959
    • William Stewart, President ACC, 1976-1979
    • Edwin Biggerstaff, President ACC, 1979-1981, Chancellor of Community Colleges, Rural Education and Cooperative Extension (CCREE) 1982-1983, Chancellor ACC 1983-1984
    • Ronald C. Smith, Acting Campus President ACC, 1982-1983
    • Herbert C. Lyon, Chancellor ACC 1984-1987


University of Alaska Anchorage:


    • Don M. Dafoe, Provost Anchorage Regional Center, Southcentral Regional Center (SRC), 1966-1969
    • Lewis E. Haines, Provost SRC, 1969-1976
    • Wendell W. Wolfe, Dean Anchorage Senior College, Acting Chancellor University of Alaska, Anchorage (UA,A) 1976, Acting Chancellor UA,A 1978
    • John Lindauer, Chancellor UA,A 1976-1978
    • Frank Harrison, Chancellor UA,A 1978-1981
    • Clark D. Ahlberg, Interim Chancellor UA,A, 1986-1987
    • Marvin O. Looney, Chancellor UA,A, 1987-1988
    • Donald O’Dowd, President UA, Chancellor/Chief Executive Officer UA,A, 1988
    • Donald Behrend, Chief Executive Officer University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)/Chancellor UAA, 1988-1994
    • Edward Lee Gorsuch, Chancellor UAA, 1994-2004
    • Elaine P. Maimon, Chancellor UAA, 2004-2007
    • Fran Ulmer, Chancellor UAA, 2007-2011
    • Tom Case, Chancellor UAA, 2011-present



Comments are closed.