• Due to renovations to our vault, access to our collections is limited until further notice. Please contact us for more information.

F.S. Pettyjohn stories

Guide to the F. S. Pettyjohn stories
circa 1985

Collection number: HMC-1149.
Creator: Pettyjohn, F. S.
Title: F. S. Pettyjohn stories.
Dates: circa 1985.
Volume of collection: 0.4 cubic feet.
Language of materials: Collection materials are in English.
Collection summary: Fiction and non-fiction stories about Alaska history.

Biographical note:
F.S. Pettyjohn was raised in South Dakota and traveled through the United States, Canada, and Mexico working road construction, mining, and prospecting. In 1965, he and his wife Helen moved to Anchorage where he appeared on television in a daily morning show called Breakfast with Bedlam. He had a fifteen minute segment called “Pettyjohn on Alaska” during which he told stories about Alaska history. Through later years he lectured on Alaska history and told stories for Anchorage audiences. He continued to prospect, including in Peru, Arizona, and California, and retired to California in 1983.

Collection description:
The collection consists of a poem, typescript stories, and Alaska history pieces written by Mr. Pettyjohn. The stories are accompanied by illustrations by Jim Moore.

Arrangement: The stories are in the order in which they appear in the table of contents. Other materials are arranged by record type.

Digitized copies: Digital copies of collection material are not available online. For information about obtaining digital copies, please contact Archives and Special Collections.

Rights note: Copyright to these materials is not held by Archives and Special Collections. If you believe you are the copyright holder, please contact the Archives.

Preferred citation: F. S. Pettyjohn stories, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Acquisition note: The collection was given to the Archives by Walt Fehliman, a friend of F. S. Pettyjohn.

Processing information: This collection was described by Arlene Schmuland in 2013. The story titles are listed in the folder list below. Further description was added by Becky Butler in 2023.

Container list:

Box/Folder Description
1/1 F. S. Pettyjohn memoir/resume
1/2 Storybook dedication and table of contents
1/3 1997 Valdez Vanguard clipping with F. S. Pettyjohn poem about the 1964 earthquake [duplicate]
1/4-5 Kaja, an Alaskan children’s story
1/6 Wood
1/7 The yellow kid
1/8 Chief Shesoie
1/9 How the hummingbirds came north
1/10 Too bad he doesn’t smoke
1/11 That kind of girl
1/12 Swiftwater Bill Gates
1/13 Freedom of the press
1/14 Law
1/15 The poacher
1/16 Reindeer to the rescue
1/17 And so it is told
1/18 Tweetie and the book
1/19 Tales of the trail
1/20 An Arctic tragedy
1/21 Purgatory
1/22 Gold is where you find it
1/23 Frank Yasuda: Japanese sourdough and master diplomat
1/24 Gala red
1/25 First sourdoughs of the Yukon
1/26 The lost rocker mine
1/27 Dog
1/28 Indian raven
1/29 A Russian American tragedy
1/30 Eggs
1/31 Raven
1/32 Legend of the shaman who lived
1/33 The romance of Count Rezanof
1/34 China Joe
1/35 A wedding on the trail
1/36 Legend of the walled city of Khinveren
1/37 Eat-‘em-up-Jake
1/38 Talking sticks of Alaska
1/39 Cruise of the Eliza Anderson
1/40 Never trust a dance hall girl
1/41 Circle City Solomon
1/42 Presumed dead in the Arctic
1/43 How Alaska was discovered three times within one year
1/44 Sourdough, Hoochinoo, and Hotcakes
1/45 Horses with snowshoes and wild canaries

Comments are closed.