• Due to renovations to our vault, access to our collections is limited until further notice. Please contact us for more information.

Literary Artists Guild of Alaska records

Guide to the Literary Artists Guild of Alaska records

 Collection number: HMC-0164.
Creator: Literary Artists Guild of Alaska.
Title: Literary Artists Guild of Alaska records.
Dates: 1981-1982.
Volume of collection: 0.01 cubic feet.
Language of materials: Collection materials are in English.
Collection summary: Records relating to an Alaskan literary forum.

Organizational history:
The Literary Artists Guild of Alaska was established in 1981 by Anchorage poet, Ann Chandonnet, to be a forum for Alaskan writers. Its activities included organizing workshops and conferences for Alaskan writers, and promoting and publicizing the works and products of Alaskan writers. The Guild’s president was Ann Chandonnet. Board members included literary artists: Albert Ningeulook (Shishmaref), Mary Baron (Fairbanks), Dale Stirling (Anchorage), Nancy Brown (Anchorage), and Annie Garrett (Anchorage). The Guild was disbanded in December 1982 because of a lack of participation.

Collection description:
The records include correspondence, primarily of Ann Chandonnet and Dale Stirling. Other records include copies of the articles and certificate of incorporation, copies of photographs relating to an organization gathering as well as their logo and a membership card, and the organization newsletter.

Arrangement: The collection is arranged by document type.

Digitized copies: This collection has not been digitized. For information about obtaining digital copies, please contact Archives and Special Collections.

Rights note: Copyright to collection materials is not held by the Archives.

Preferred citation: Literary Artists Guild of Alaska records, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Acquisition note: The collection was deposited in the Archives by Ann Chandonnet and Dale Stirling in 1984.

Processing information: This collection was arranged and described prior to 1990. The guide to the collection was updated to meet current standard by Arlene Schmuland in 2018.

Comments are closed.